As the last member of my group of friends from university I finally made it abroad last week. It took me a good 14 hours from Stuttgart over London to now be about 8.500km away from Regensburg.

I will be spending the next four months in South Korea’s capital: Seoul! With over 10 million people living only in the urban core alone, Seoul is the 14th largest city in the world, embedded in the second largest metropolitan region worldwide – with just about 26 million inhabitants.

FullSizeRender-1.jpg
Looking eastward from the top of Namsan Tower onto the seemingly endless city and the Han River that flows through it.

After downloading Korea’s KakaoTalk messenger, buying a T-money card for public transportation, and purchasing a Korean sim card, I’m ready for everyday life in Seoul! Since it’s still winter it’s still pretty cold outside, and spring only comes out and shows itself every now and then – so until further notice coat, scarf, and boots are needed to explore the city.

After four weeks of having time off from school, and after growing accustomed to my new home and trying all sorts of new things during the first few days in Korea, classes have started again. For one semester I will be an exchange student at Soongsil University, taking classes such as Politics, Society, and Culture of North KoreaConsumer Behavior, and Global Political Economy – a colorful mix of political, economic, and cultural courses. At the same time I want to improve my Korean skills, after taking a language course last semester on Germany (안녕하세요? 김치, 감사합니다! 독일 대사관이 어디에 있습니카? – or something like that).

FullSizeRender-4.jpg
Soongsil University’s campus. The school was founded in Pyongyang in 1897 as the first modern university in Korea by a US-American missionary, and was reopened in Seoul after the Korean War in 1954.

Even after just the first day of class I can say that studying at Soongsil and everyday life on campus is much different than at my home university in Regensburg.

Since all school buildings, including the dormitory and sports facilities, are located on the densely built campus, it is full of life and buzzing activity during the week, especially during breaks in between classes. This morning, the campus seemed to awake from its summer break slumber, when all 15.000 students arrived at the same time. When I was on my way to my first class this morning at eight thirty, K-Pop music was already playing from speakers located throughout the entire campus. On the main square in front of the student union, school clubs had set up their booths to advertise, with members dancing, playing instruments, and distributing pamphlets to convince people to join. I spontaneously signed up for Soongsil’s wine tasting club. The club meets one evening a week to taste and talk about different wines and to have pleasant conversation (at this point I have to explain that wine is generally much more expensive at the supermarket than in Germany, with a bottle starting at around 8 Euros – which is why this club is an excellent opportunity to still enjoy one or two lovely sips. And of course to get to know Koreans and practice speaking Korean – please don’t judge).

Classes are also held differently than in Germany. To begin with, professors insist on keeping general attendance in all classes. If one is absent too many times in the course of the semester, one automatically fails the class. It depends on the professor as to how many absences can be received; however, in some cases repeated tardiness can be enough to be marked as absent (this stands in stark contrast to university in Germany, where professors usually have a do-as-you-wish-but-if-you-fail-the-exam-it’s-your-fault kind of attitute).

In addition, many different grades count towards the final grade. Attendance, in-class participation, (pop) quizzes, presentations, and homework count into the final grade just like the two exams per semester do. These are all taken during midterm and finals week, respectively, so that the semester ends after exactly 16 weeks.

Last week I moved into the on-campus dorm, which provides enough story material for an entire blogpost. And on that note I’ll stop right here for now with the reporting and let this be a first introduction to student life at Soongsil University.

 

P.S.: The food in Korea is amazing – but also deserves a dedicated blogpost at a later point. 안녕히 가세요!

FullSizeRender-3.jpg
Just a short preview into the wonderful culinary world of Korea – stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:

Als letzter der Regensburger Freundesgruppe habe ich es letzte Woche auch endlich in mein Auslandssemester geschafft. Von Stuttgart über London bin ich über 14 Stunden unterwegs gewesen und befinde mich jetzt ca. 8500km von Regensburg entfernt.

Verschlagen hat es mich für die nächsten vier Monate in die Hauptstadt Südkoreas: Seoul! Mit über 10 Millionen Einwohnern allein in der Kernstadt ist Seoul die 14. größte Stadt der Welt und befindet sich in der weltweit zweitgrößten Metropolregion, mit knapp 26 Millionen Einwohnern.

FullSizeRender-1.jpg
Blick Richtung Osten auf die scheinbar endlose Stadt und den durch sie fließende Han Fluss von N Seoul Tower aus.

KakaoTalk heruntergeladen, T-money Karte gekauft und aufgeladen und Simkarte erworben – ich bin bereit für den Seouler Alltag! Noch ist der Winter hier bitterkalt und von Frühling ist nur sporadisch was zu sehen, deswegen heißt es warm anziehen, ehe man die Stadt erleben geht.Nach den ersten Tagen eingewöhnen, erkunden und ausprobieren hat heute auch nach vier Wochen Pause die Vorlesungszeit bei mir wieder angefangen. Für ein Semester bin ich Student an der Soongsil University („Sungschil„) und werde Kurse wie Consumer BehaviorPolitics, Society, and Culture of North Korea, und Global Political Economy belegen – ein bunter Mix also aus politischen, wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Kursen – und nebenher fleißig meine Koreanischkenntnisse erweitern (안녕하세요? 김치, 감사합니다! 독일 대사관이 어디에 있습니카? – oder so).

FullSizeRender-4.jpg
Der Campus der Soongsil University. Die Uni wurde 1897 als erste moderne Universität Koreas von einem amerikanischen Missionar in Pjöngjang gegründet und nach dem Koreakrieg 1954 in Seoul wiedergegründet.

Nach dem ersten Tag schon lässt sich sagen, dass ein Studium an der Soongsil und der damit verbundene Alltag gänzlich anders abläuft als ein Studium an der OTH Regensburg.

Da sich alle Gebäude der Uni, inklusive Wohnheime und Sportanlagen, auf dem dicht bebauten Campus befinden, ist tagsüber besonders viel los, vor allem in Pausen. Heute morgen ist der Campus aus seiner Semesterferienstarre erwacht und alle knapp 15.000 Studierende sind auf einmal eingetroffen. Als ich morgens um halb neun auf dem Weg zur ersten Vorlesung bin ertönt aus Lautsprechern auf dem gesamten Campus schon koreanische Popmusik. Auf dem Main Square vor dem Studierendenhaus haben sich alle extrakurrikularen AGs der Uni Stände aufgebaut, verteilen Flyer und versuchen, neue Mitglieder zu rekrutieren. Ich habe mich spontan auch für eine AG angemeldet – die Weinprobe-AG. Einmal wöchentlich wird sich Abends getroffen, um Weine zu kosten, über jene feine Tropfen zu lernen und sich gemütlich zu unterhalten (an dieser Stelle muss angemerkt werden, dass Wein in Korea generell sehr teuer ist – im Supermarkt fängt die Flasche bei knapp 10€ an – und diese AG deswegen eine gute Möglichkeit ist, dennoch günstig den ein oder anderen Tropfen zu genießen. Natürlich auch um Koreaner kennen zu lernen und an den Sprachkenntnissen zu schrauben – please don’t judge).

Auch die Kurse an sich sind anders aufgebaut und laufen anders ab. Zunächst herrscht generelle Anwesenheitspflicht in allen Kursen. Ist man im Semester zu oft nicht anwesend, fällt man automatisch durch. Je nach Professor variiert die Zahl der Fehlstunden; auch reicht zum teil schon wiederholtes Zuspätkommen, um als abwesend markiert zu werden.

Dann fließt weit mehr als nur ein Leistungsnachweis pro Kurs pro Semester in die Endnote herein. Anwesenheit, Teilnahme am Unterricht, kleine Tests im Laufe des Semesters (die auch unangekündigt sein können) und Hausaufgaben beeinflussen die Endnote genauso wie die zwei Prüfungen pro Semester – wie an US-amerikanischen Unis die Midterms und die Finals. Alle Midterms  und alle Finals finden in jeweils einer vorlesungsfreien Woche statt, sodass das Semester nach exakt 16 Wochen zu Ende ist.

Untergebracht bin ich im Wohnheim direkt auf dem Campus – dieses aber bietet reichlich Stoff für einen eigenen Blogeintrag. Deswegen dies erstmal als eine erste Berichterstattung und einen kleinen Einblick in das studentische Leben an der Soongsil University.

 

P.S.: Das Essen in Korea ist der Hammer – verdient aber zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt auch einen eigenen Eintrag. 안녕히 가세요!

FullSizeRender-3.jpg
Hier schon mal eine kleine Vorschau in die kulinarischen Besonderheiten Koreas!

Kommentar verfassen

%d Bloggern gefällt das: