By now I’m sure everyone will have heard: Donald Trump will be inaugurated as the 45th President of the United States of America on January 20, 2017. I don’t want to make any comments about the domestic or foreign policy consequences that this will have – enough pundits will be working on that – but rather give a brief insight into the election night and the atmosphere in NYC.

I’ve never seen New York so quiet – the city seems to be in a state of shock-induced paralysis. On the subway, on the streets: never have I had to look into so many stunned, appalled, and especially sad faces. For me, election night started at the Javots Center where Hillary was actually supposed to celebrate her “victory” party. After standing in line for quite some time and going through several security check points we entered the convention grounds – only invited guests were allowed to attend.

img_9338.jpg

In the beginning we were all still very confident, until the first really important results started to come in from Florida, Ohio, and North Carolina. The crowd was as quiet as a mouse when it was announced that Trump would most likely win all of these states. From this moment on the whole city was covered by a very tense mood. Suddenly, no more car horns or sirens could be heard; most people nervously looked at their phones.

Like many others I left the event earlier than initially planned and drove to Brooklyn, where a few other interns and I had tickets for a show commenting on the elections. The people here remained optimistic for a relatively long amount of time and preferred to drink a beer and cheer to the election polls. On my way home I made a quick stop at the Rockefeller Center, where the TV channel NBC was reporting on the election.

img_9381.jpg

At this point there was almost no more hope for Hillary, and some people were sitting on the ground and even crying – an almost haunting atmosphere. At around 1AM, when it started to become evident that Trump would also win Pennsylvania, there was no more doubt about his victory.

This morning, after about four hours of sleep, I was woken by an outcry in the house. It was my landlady that had gone to bed fairly confident early last night. As an immigrant with a disabled child, the results are especially shocking for her – but this is now the grim reality for many people in the melting pot that is New York. In Manhattan, over 87% of the electorate voted for Hillary. At the office we had the next crisis meeting: even though people had, in fact, admitted that Trump had had a chance of winning, no one actually expected it to happen!

Just now we watched Hillary’s concession speech together – actually a pretty powerful and moving speech, which unfortunately we didn’t see so much of on the campaign trail…

Translated by Philip

One thought on “New York is paralyzed”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:

Ihr habt es alle mitbekommen: Donald Trump wird am 20. Januar 2017 Präsident der Vereinigten Staaten werden. Ich möchte gerade gar keinen Kommentar zu den innen- sowie außenpolitischen Auswirkungen dieses Ergebnisses machen – das wird jetzt sowieso genug durchgekaut – sondern nur einen kurzen Eindruck von der Wahlnacht und der Stimmung in NYC geben.

Ich habe New York noch nie so leise erlebt – die Stadt befindet sich in einer absoluten Schockstarre. Im subway, auf der Straße – ich habe noch nie in so viele fassungslose, entsetzte und vor allem auch traurige Gesichter geguckt. Für mich ging die Wahlnacht gestern am Javits Center los, wo Hillary eigentlich ihre „victory“ Party ausrichteten wollte. Nach langem Schlange stehen und Security Checks kamen wir auf das große Gelände vor dem Center – ins Innere wurden nur geladene Gäste gelassen.

img_9338.jpg

Zu Beginn waren alle noch zuversichtlich, bis dann gegen 21 Uhr die ersten wirklich wichtigen Ergebnisse aus Florida, Ohio und North Carolina kamen. Die Menge war mucksmäuschenstill, als bekannt gegeben wurde, dass Trump wohl all diese Staaten für sich gewinnen konnte. Von da an herrschte in der gesamten Stadt eine sehr angespannte Stimmung. Es waren plötzlich keine hupenden Autos oder Sirenen mehr zu hören, die Meisten guckten nervös auf ihr Handy.

Wie viele andere verließ ich die Veranstaltung früher und fuhr nach Brooklyn, wo ich zusammen mit ein paar anderen Praktikanten Tickets für eine Art Wahlkommentierungs-Show hatte. Hier blieben die Leute noch relativ lange optimistisch und tranken lieber nochmal ein Bier auf die Prognosen. Auf meinem Rückweg machte ich Halt am Rockefeller Center, von wo aus der Fernsehsender NBC berichtete.

img_9381.jpg

Es gab kaum noch Hoffnung für Hillary und die Leute saßen teilweise weinend auf dem Boden. Eine fast gruselige Stimmung. Gegen 1 Uhr, als sich andeutete, dass Trump auch noch Pennsylvania gewinnen würde gab es eigentlich keine Zweifel mehr an seinem Sieg.

Heute Morgen wurde ich – nach ungefähr 4h Schlaf – von einem Aufschrei geweckt. Es war der meiner Vermieterin, die gestern relativ früh und noch ziemlich zuversichtlich schlafen gegangen war. Als Einwanderin mit einem behinderten Kind ist das Ergebnis für sie besonders schockierend – aber so geht es vielen Leuten im Melting Pot New York. In Manhattan haben 87% der Wähler für Hillary gestimmt. Im Büro dann die nächste Krisensitzung – auch wenn man Trump zuletzt Chancen eingestanden hatte, niemand hat so wirklich mit diesem Ausgang gerechnet. Und niemand ist darauf vorbereitet!

Gerade haben wir Hillarys Concession speech angeschaut. Tatsächlich eine ziemlich starke und bewegende Rede, wie wir sie im Wahlkampf leider eher selten von ihr gesehen haben…

One thought on “New York ist paralysiert”

Kommentar verfassen

%d Bloggern gefällt das: